George Smith AM


George Smith played 111 test matches for the Wallabies. He is a two-time John Eales Medallist, and recipient of the Medal of the Order of Australia for services to sport. The evergreen George Smith announced his retirement in 2019 after 19 seasons playing professional Rugby.


George Smith is one of the greatest players in the history of world rugby. 

Smith played 12 seasons with the ACT Brumbies between 2000 and 2011 before shifting to French Rugby Club, Toulon for two seasons. George stayed with the Top 14 in France, turning out for Stade Francais before Eddie Jones lured the talented flanker to the Top League in Japan. Smith signed with Suntory Sungoliath in 2011, delivering the franchise two premierships in his first two seasons.

George Smith was awarded a Medal of the Order of Australia in 2012. He is a two-time recipient of the John Eales Medal. Between 2006 and 2009 he was the Australian Super 14 Player of the Year over four consecutive seasons. In 2007, he became the Wallabies 75th Captain.

George Smith announced his retirement from Rugby in May 2019 bringing down the curtain on a playing career that saw him play for some of the best club rugby sides and provinces around the world. He also represented his country with great distinction

George Smith AM